Lucy Ja-EEn Cuh-Louse

That’s how she says it, Lucy Ja-EEn Cuh-Louse. She’s my Lucy Jeane and I love her more than I ever thought possible.

The world knows me as her “Aunt Megan”. If you ask her, she’ll tell you that yes, I am her aunt. But really, I’m her Meggie. She has never called me Megan. From the moment she could speak, and I tried and tried to get her to say “Megan”; she finally looked me in the eye and said, “Meggie”. Obviously.

I know you can’t have favorites, but I doubt very much I will ever be as close to a niece or nephew like I am with Lucy. In the end, she’s my first and she will always be my favorite Lucy Jeanne. Living with her family for the first 4.5 months of her life, I knew exactly what she needed every moment of the day. 2 years later, it’s not the same. Still, we’re close and I can always, always make her listen/mind/calm/laugh.

She’s my Lucy Jeanne, and I love her more than I ever thought possible.

A few weeks ago, I ran alongside her stroller as her mom and I ran a mile race in a charity run. She looked at all the runners and kept commenting on how cool it was. When we were walking back to the car (this time only the baby was in the stroller) she begged me to run with her, so we hopped along, holding hands the last 50 ft to the car. When she got home, she told her dad all about the race and how she wanted to do it again, with him and with me.

Over memorial day, I told her and baby-Iana that they were my favorite two nieces. Lucy, put down her spoon, looked at me and said, “You can only have one.” She’s three-years-old.

That’s it. She’s smart. She loves me more than she understands and she’s My Lucy Jeanne, and I love her more than I ever thought possible.

Leave a comment